State senator from Celina takes helm

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WDTN) — The state senator from Celina was sworn in Monday as the President of the Ohio Senate.

Keith Faber (R-Celina) was sworn in during opening ceremonies at the Statehouse, marking the start of the 130th General Assembly.

Faber is the first Senate President to serve from Mercer County.  He will oversee the 33-seat chamber.

“I am honored to lead such a talented and dedicated caucus as well as provide leadership for the entire Senate membership,” President Faber said. “The state budget will be the focus of the first six months of this General Assembly, with government efficiency, economic recovery and jobs continuing to be our number one priority.”

Senator Faber was elected to the Ohio Senate in 2007 and has served on the Senate leadership team since 2009 when he was elected Majority Floor Leader.


Copyright 2014 WDTN TV. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Political Pulse

Did you like this article? Vote it up or down! And don't forget to add your comments below!

Like It
Don't Like It


We welcome your thoughtful comments. Be the first to participate in the discussion. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Add a Comment

Sign in or join now to post a comment. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Ohio (change)

The government of Ohio is composed of the executive branch, led by the Governor; the legislative branch, which comprises the Ohio General Assembly; and the judicial branch, which is led by the Supreme Court.
Offices & Officials

Governor: John Kasich
Lieutenant Governor: Mary Taylor
Attorney General: Mike DeWine
State Treasurer: Josh Mandel
Secretary of State: Jon Husted

Contacting the White House and Congress

Click the links below to get in touch with your elected officials.