Electors convene to deliver Ohio's 18 votes

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) — Members of the revered and reviled Electoral College that formalizes America's presidential results are gathering in Ohio and elsewhere.

Electors are set to convene at noon Monday at the Statehouse. They will deliver the battleground state's 18 electoral votes to Democratic President Barack Obama. After the months of intensive campaigning, Obama beat Republican nominee Mitt Romney 50-47 in the state.

Chief Justice Maureen O'Connor kicks off the process with a swearing-in ceremony in the chambers of the Ohio Senate.

Copyright 2014 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Political Pulse

Did you like this article? Vote it up or down! And don't forget to add your comments below!

Like It
Don't Like It


We welcome your thoughtful comments. Be the first to participate in the discussion. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Add a Comment

Sign in or join now to post a comment. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Ohio (change)

The government of Ohio is composed of the executive branch, led by the Governor; the legislative branch, which comprises the Ohio General Assembly; and the judicial branch, which is led by the Supreme Court.
Offices & Officials

Governor: John Kasich
Lieutenant Governor: Mary Taylor
Attorney General: Mike DeWine
State Treasurer: Josh Mandel
Secretary of State: Jon Husted

Contacting the White House and Congress

Click the links below to get in touch with your elected officials.