Eastwood, Leno are Ohio write-in presidential picks

CANTON, Ohio (AP) — Actor Clint Eastwood, New York Jets quarterback Tim Tebow and comedian Jon Stewart all received write-in votes for president in the battleground state of Ohio.

A review by The Canton Repository of ballots cast Tuesday found submissions silly, stupid and sublime among 242 write-ins cast in Stark County.

There were votes for God and Jesus; for Tebow, car racing icon Richard Petty and other sports stars; for fictional characters including Tigger, Cookie Monster and Eric Cartman, the foul-mouthed schoolboy from TV's South Park; and votes for Eastwood, Stewart and Jay Leno.

One voter wrote in Democratic U.S. Sen. John Kerry, eight years too late.

The county's deputy elections director said votes for unregistered candidates don't count, but they're a good source of entertainment.

Copyright 2014 AP Modified. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Political Pulse

Did you like this article? Vote it up or down! And don't forget to add your comments below!

Like It
Don't Like It


We welcome your thoughtful comments. Be the first to participate in the discussion. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Add a Comment

Sign in or join now to post a comment. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Ohio (change)

The government of Ohio is composed of the executive branch, led by the Governor; the legislative branch, which comprises the Ohio General Assembly; and the judicial branch, which is led by the Supreme Court.
Offices & Officials

Governor: John Kasich
Lieutenant Governor: Mary Taylor
Attorney General: Mike DeWine
State Treasurer: Josh Mandel
Secretary of State: Jon Husted

Contacting the White House and Congress

Click the links below to get in touch with your elected officials.