Ohio voters crush Issue 1 and Issue 2

DAYTON, Ohio (WDTN) — Both statewide issues on the Ohio ballot were defeated.

Voters said 'no' to Issue 1 and 'no' to Issue 2.

Issue 1 was a call for a state constitutional convention. By law, voters are asked every 20 years whether a new constitutional convention should be called.  2012 was that year. Had the issue prevailed, delegates would have been appointed to draft a new constitution or amendments that voters would then be asked to approve.

The last time a constitutional convention was called was in 1910 when citizens and politicians felt a need to modernize a constitution that was first written in 1802. Then next time the issue will be on the ballot will be 2032.

Issue 2 was a proposed constitutional amendment to change the way Ohio determines and draws legislative and congressional district lines.

Right now the job is done by elected officials, but some argued the process is too political, as the party in control tries to draw lines that favor its candidates.

Proponents of the amendment wanted to remove elected officials from the redistricting process and hand the responsibility over to a new redistricting commission.

With the amendment's defeat, elected officials will continue the task of redistricting.

Copyright 2014 WDTN TV. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Political Pulse

Did you like this article? Vote it up or down! And don't forget to add your comments below!

Like It
Don't Like It


We welcome your thoughtful comments. Be the first to participate in the discussion. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Add a Comment

Sign in or join now to post a comment. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Ohio (change)

The government of Ohio is composed of the executive branch, led by the Governor; the legislative branch, which comprises the Ohio General Assembly; and the judicial branch, which is led by the Supreme Court.
Offices & Officials

Governor: John Kasich
Lieutenant Governor: Mary Taylor
Attorney General: Mike DeWine
State Treasurer: Josh Mandel
Secretary of State: Jon Husted

Contacting the White House and Congress

Click the links below to get in touch with your elected officials.